How Much Power Does a Motorized Awning Use?
Quick answer
A 120 V residential awning motor draws about 240 W, or 2 A, and only while it moves. Somfy lists that figure for its Sunea RTS CMO awning motors, with 0 W in standby. One full movement takes about a minute, so opening and closing the awning every day for a year uses roughly 3 to 4.5 kWh, well under $1 at the July 2026 US average of 18.31 cents per kWh. A house awning needs a GFCI-protected outdoor outlet within reach of its 16 to 24 ft cord, not a dedicated circuit. The dedicated 15 A circuit advice is correct for 12 V RV awnings, whose motors run at 2.5 A but stall at up to 14 A.
A residential motorized awning uses about 240 watts while it is moving and essentially nothing the rest of the time. That is the operating consumption Somfy lists for its 120 V Sunea RTS CMO awning motors, the motor family SunSetter names in its owner's manual, and it works out to 2 amps. A full open or close takes about a minute, so an awning moved out and back every day of the year uses 3 to 4.5 kWh: less than a dollar of electricity at current US prices. The things worth planning are the outlet and the cord, not the power bill.
RV awnings are different. They run on 12 V DC, draw more current for the same work, and their makers do ask for a fused 15 A supply. The two cases are the source of most of the conflicting advice, so this page takes them separately.
The numbers from the makers' own documents
Neither the SunSetter nor the Advaning manual prints a wattage. The figure comes from the motor maker. Somfy's US product pages for two Sunea RTS CMO motors, the 535A2 and the 550R2, both list "Consumption during operation: 240 W" on a 120 V, 60 Hz supply, and "Consumption in standby mode: 0 W". SunSetter's manual calls its motor "This 110 volt Motor", made by Somfy and approved by UL and CSA, and its troubleshooting table refers to "your Somfy Sunea motor". The RV figures come from Carefree of Colorado and Dometic installation documents.
| Product | Supply | Running draw | Power and protection the maker specifies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Somfy Sunea RTS CMO 535A2 and 550R2 (house awnings) | 120 V AC, 60 Hz | 240 W while moving (2 A, calculated); 0 W standby | UL approved; IP 44 |
| SunSetter motorized awnings (Somfy motor) | 110 V | Not stated; motor is a Somfy Sunea | 18 ft cord to a GFI outlet (24 ft on the Oasis); permanent wiring by a licensed electrician |
| Advaning Classic and Luxury electric | Household outlet | Not stated | 16 ft power cord; "Plug into a GFI rated outdoor socket" |
| Carefree Freedom Freestyle WM (RV) | 12 V DC, works down to 10 V | 2.5 A nominal, 30 W output; 14 A at stall | 14 AWG minimum (12 AWG for runs of 30 ft or more), 15 A fuse |
| Carefree Eclipse (RV) | 12 V DC, 10 to 14 V range | Not stated | Circuit rating 15 A; dedicated 15 A circuit recommended |
| Dometic 9100 power awning (RV) | 12 V DC | Not stated | 15 A fuse on the awning switch supply; 3 A fuses for the ignition control lead and LED light switch |
The 2 A figure is simple division: 240 W at 120 V. Somfy's number is a rating for the motor, not a measurement of your awning, and draw rises and falls with load, as Carefree's separate running and stall figures show. Use 240 W as the planning figure for normal running.
What it costs to run a motorized awning
Energy is power multiplied by time, and the time is short. Carefree gives the only published movement times found: about 28 seconds to extend and 32 seconds to retract its Eclipse RV awning. House awnings are wider and slower. Our guide to motor overheating works with about 70 seconds for a 14 ft awning, and SunSetter warns that its motor may switch itself off to cool after "as few as 5 to 10 cycles" of continuous opening and closing, which is consistent with movements of a minute or so.
Worked example
A 16 ft house awning with a 240 W motor takes 90 seconds per full movement, a generous allowance. One movement uses 240 W x 90 s = 21,600 watt-seconds, or 6 Wh.
Out in the morning and in at night is two movements, 12 Wh a day. Every day for a year: 12 x 365 = 4.4 kWh.
The US Energy Information Administration put the average residential price at 18.31 cents per kWh in July 2026. 4.4 kWh x $0.1831 = about 80 cents a year. At a 60-second movement it is about 53 cents.
A sun sensor that cycles the awning ten times a day on cloudy days would use 22 kWh a year if it did so every day, about $4.
For comparison, 4.4 kWh is what a 60 W bulb uses in about 73 hours. If the question behind the search is whether the motor eats into the cooling savings from the shade, it does not: the motor's yearly use is a rounding error against what shading a window does to an air conditioner's load, covered in our page on awning energy savings.
Standby is the part people worry about, because the radio receiver in the motor is always listening for the remote. Somfy lists it as 0 W on both motors checked. That is Somfy's figure for the motor itself. Accessories are separate: a hub, a plug-in wind sensor or LED lights each have their own supply, and lights draw power for hours rather than seconds. A smart-home bridge is covered in smart home awning control.
Does a motorized awning need a dedicated circuit?
A house awning does not. At 2 A, the motor uses about an eighth of a standard 15 A circuit while it runs, and nothing the rest of the time. SunSetter and Advaning both tell you to plug into a ground fault (GFI or GFCI) outdoor outlet, and neither manual asks for a dedicated circuit. SunSetter's only wiring rule is that "any permanent wiring of the awning must be performed by a licensed electrician per your local electrical codes."
The dedicated-circuit advice is real, but it belongs to RVs. Carefree recommends wiring its Eclipse "to a dedicated 15 amp circuit", and both Carefree and Dometic call for a 15 A fuse on the motor supply. The reason is in Carefree's own motor table: 2.5 A in normal running, but 14 A when the motor stalls at minimum voltage, for example against a jammed arm or a frozen roller. A fuse sized for running current would blow every time the motor met resistance, so it is sized for the stall.
| Situation | What it needs | Who does the work |
|---|---|---|
| House awning, GFCI outdoor outlet within cord reach | Nothing new; plug in with a drip loop and an in-use cover | Owner |
| House awning, outlet farther than the cord | A new GFCI outlet near the motor end | Electrician, typically $200 to $800 |
| House awning, no visible cord wanted | Hardwired to a junction box, often with a wall switch | Electrician; permit where required |
| 12 V RV awning | Fused 15 A supply, 14 AWG minimum, 12 AWG for runs of 30 ft or more (Carefree) | Dealer or experienced installer |
The $200 to $800 range is the electrician figure used across this site, including in awning installation cost. Whether new wiring needs a permit is a local question, set out in awning permits and HOA rules.
The outlet: GFCI, cover and cord length
Three things decide whether a plug-in awning works for years or trips its outlet every rainstorm.
- GFCI protection. NEC 210.8(A)(3) requires GFCI protection for outdoor receptacles at dwelling units, as Electrical Construction & Maintenance sets out in its code violation review. Both SunSetter and Advaning tell you to use one.
- An in-use cover. NEC 406.9(B)(1) requires 15 A and 20 A receptacles in wet locations to stay weatherproof "whether or not the attachment plug cap is inserted". A flat flip cover that only seals when nothing is plugged in does not meet it. An awning cord stays plugged in all season, so the outlet needs a bubble or "extra duty" hood. Leviton, for example, markets its 5980 cover as compliant with NEC 2017 406.9(B)(1) for extra-duty use. SunSetter recommends one too.
- A drip loop. SunSetter shows a loop in the cord below the motor head and another below the outlet; Advaning's loop sits lower than the outlet. Rain runs off the low point instead of along the cord.
Cord length sets where the outlet must be. SunSetter's cord is 18 ft (24 ft on its Oasis model) and Advaning's is 16 ft. The cord leaves the awning at the motor end, so decide which end the motor goes on, based on where the outlet is, before you order. Our guide to motorizing a manual awning covers choosing the motor end on a retrofit.
When the awning trips the GFCI
A 2 A motor will not overload a 15 A circuit in normal use, so a trip means something else. SunSetter's troubleshooting table gives the order to check: plug another appliance into the outlet to prove the outlet works, then power the awning from an outlet on another circuit using an extension cord. If the trip follows the awning, "there may be moisture inside the motor housing", and SunSetter's fix is to let the motor dry out over 2 to 3 days, add a cover or hood, and use a drip loop. The motor "is designed to operate if it gets wet and dries out." A breaker that trips while the motor hums without turning points to a stalled motor instead; see awning motor hums but won't move.
RV awnings and the battery
On 12 V, the Carefree Freestyle motor's 2.5 A for about 30 seconds is 2.5 x 30 / 3,600 = 0.02 amp-hours per movement. Opening and closing it every day of a two-week trip uses about 0.6 Ah, 0.6 percent of a 100 Ah battery. The motor's run time is not what flattens a battery. What matters is voltage: Carefree rates the motor down to 10 V, and its stall current is specified at that minimum voltage. A weak battery with the engine off makes a stall more likely, and the 15 A fuse is there for that case. For the choice between a powered and a hand-cranked RV awning, see power vs manual RV awnings; for faults, RV awning motor problems.
Where these figures stop applying
- Other motor brands. The 240 W figure is Somfy's for two Sunea models. Motors from other makers can differ. If your manual or motor label gives a wattage or amperage, use it.
- Battery and solar motors. These draw from their own battery and have no outlet to plan. Charging is covered in awning motors explained.
- Stalls. Running figures assume the awning moves freely. A jammed arm or ice on the fabric can multiply the draw several times, as Carefree's 2.5 A against 14 A shows.
- Lights and heaters. LED strips and electric heaters fitted to an awning are separate loads with their own ratings and run for hours, not seconds. Heater clearances are in our patio heater clearance guide.
- Electricity price. 18.31 cents is a national July 2026 average. Doubling it still leaves a daily-use awning under $2 a year.
Frequently asked questions
How many amps does a motorized awning draw?
About 2 A at 120 V for a house awning, calculated from the 240 W Somfy lists for its Sunea RTS CMO awning motors. A 12 V RV awning motor draws more current for the same work: Carefree rates its Freestyle motor at 2.5 A nominal and 14 A at stall.
Does a motorized awning use electricity when it is not moving?
Not enough to rate. Somfy lists standby consumption as 0 W for its Sunea RTS CMO motors. Accessories such as LED lights or a hub have their own supply and draw.
Can I plug a motorized awning into any outdoor outlet?
Into any GFCI-protected outdoor outlet within reach of the cord, ideally with an in-use cover so it stays sealed while the cord is plugged in. SunSetter's cord is 18 ft and Advaning's 16 ft. If the outlet is farther away, the fix is a new outlet near the motor end, installed by an electrician.
Does a motorized awning need 220 V?
No, not in the US. The US awning motors checked here run on 120 V (SunSetter describes its motor as 110 V). The 230 V Somfy data sheets that turn up in searches are for European versions of the same motors.
How much does it cost to run a motorized awning?
Under $1 a year for daily use. Two full movements a day at 240 W for 90 seconds each is about 4.4 kWh a year, roughly 80 cents at the July 2026 US average residential price of 18.31 cents per kWh.
Sources and further reading
- Somfy: Sunea RTS CMO 535A2 with 18" fast connector, technical specifications
- Somfy: Sunea RTS CMO 550R2 with 18" fast connector, technical specifications
- SunSetter: Owner's manual and installation instructions, manual and motorized awnings (2022 to present edition, hosted by InspectAPedia)
- SunSetter: Owner's Corner FAQs (cord lengths, GFI recommendation)
- Advaning: Classic Series retractable awning owner's manual
- Advaning: Luxury Series retractable awning owner's manual
- Carefree of Colorado: Freedom Freestyle WM installation manual, 052573-001r17
- Carefree of Colorado: Eclipse specification sheet
- Dometic: 9100 power awning installation manual, form 3316039.000 rev. E (1/18)
- US Energy Information Administration: Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A, average price of electricity to ultimate customers
- Electrical Construction & Maintenance: What's wrong here? (NEC 210.8(A)(3) and 406.9(B)(1) at an outdoor receptacle)
- Leviton: 5980 extra duty while-in-use cover
How we write our guides: figures are typical US ranges checked against manufacturer documentation, published standards and installer pricing. Read our editorial standards. Spotted an error or outdated detail? Request a correction.