Sizing and Installation

Roof Rack Weight Limit With an Awning: Dynamic, Static and Side Load

Quick answer

While you drive, add the awning and its brackets to the bars and everything else on the roof, and keep the total under the lower of two numbers: the vehicle's dynamic roof limit and the crossbar rating. A Rhino-Rack Batwing with brackets weighs about 20 kg (44 lb), so on a Jeep Wrangler's 100 lb limit, which includes the crossbars, it can take close to half the roof. Once parked and open, the number that matters is the side (lateral) load. Of the vehicles checked here, only the 2026 Subaru Outback publishes one: 220 lb, with "a big awning" named as the use. Nobody publishes a wind speed for these awnings, so the guy ropes and pegs, not the rack, have to hold the wind. Rhino-Rack and ARB both say to use them every time the awning is out.

Yes, most roof racks can hold a car awning, but only if you count it. Add the awning and its brackets to the bars and everything else on the roof. Then keep that total under the vehicle's dynamic roof limit, the number for a moving car, and under the bars' own rating. A Rhino-Rack Batwing with its brackets weighs about 20 kg (44 lb). On some vehicles that is close to half of everything the roof may carry.

Once you park and open it, a different load takes over. Wind on the fabric pulls the rack sideways and up. That is the side load, or lateral load, and of the vehicles checked here only one maker publishes a figure for it. So the awning makers put that job on the ground. Use guy ropes and pegs every time the awning is out, and pack it away in strong wind.

Dynamic, static and side load in plain words

A roof carries weight in more than one way, and car makers rate those ways separately. Three terms decide the answer here.

Dynamic load is the most weight the roof may carry while the car is moving. Bumps, braking and turns add force to whatever is up there, so this is the smallest of the ratings. It is the number most owner's manuals print, often without a name.

Static load is the most weight the roof may carry while the car is parked. It is much higher, and it exists mainly for rooftop tents with people sleeping in them.

Side load (lateral load) is force that pushes or pulls the rack across the car, toward one side, instead of pressing straight down. An open awning makes this kind of force. So does a hammock tied off the side of the rack.

Two kinds of awning fit on a roof rack. A side awning, such as the ARB Awning 2500, is a rectangle of fabric rolled up in a bag along one side of the rack. It pulls straight out and stands on two legs. A 270 awning is fan-shaped and hinged at one rear corner, so its arms swing out around the side and the back of the vehicle. The Rhino-Rack Batwing works this way. Its four arms swing out one after another. The instructions warn about the tailgate and about the fourth support near the rear of the vehicle.

They are light next to an RV awning. The Batwing's 44 lb is under half the 90 lb Dometic lists for its 21 ft 9100 power awning, and house awnings run heavier still (see how much a retractable awning weighs). Neither car awning has a motor. Legs, supports and guy ropes hold the open fabric, not spring arms.

Rear view of an SUV with a roof rack. Down arrows on the rack mark the dynamic load while driving and the static load while parked. An awning opens to the right on a leg. A sideways arrow at the rack marks the side load, and a guy rope runs from the awning's outer edge to a peg in the ground.
The same rack, three loads. Down arrows: the dynamic limit applies while you drive and the static limit while you are parked. Sideways arrow: the side (lateral) load an open awning makes when wind pushes or lifts the fabric. The guy rope and peg carry that wind to the ground instead of the rack.

Published roof ratings, side by side

Car makers do not print these numbers the same way. Most give one figure for the moving car. Only Subaru's newest Outback, in the manuals and coverage read for this page, gives all three. The table collects what each source says.

Roof load ratings as published, with what each figure includes
Vehicle or barsWhile driving (dynamic)Parked (static)Side (lateral)What the figure includes
2026 Subaru Outback (The Drive)220 lb800 lb220 lb, parkedLateral named for "a hammock or a big awning"
2022 Subaru Outback Wilderness (owner's manual)220 lb (100 kg)700 lb (317 kg), with a roof tentNot givenCargo, crossbars and carrying attachments
2022 Subaru Outback, other trims (owner's manual)150 lb (67.5 kg)Not givenNot givenCrossbar attachments and cargo
2017 Subaru Outback (owner's manual)150 lb (67.5 kg)Not givenNot given"Cargo and attachment" on the crossbars
Toyota 4Runner (owner's manual OM35B72U)120 lb (54 kg)Not givenNot given"Cargo weight on the roof luggage carrier"
Jeep Wrangler with roof rack (owner's manual)100 lb (45 kg)Not givenNot givenIncludes the crossbars; Hard Top models only
Thule WingBar Evo barsUp to 220 lb (100 kg)Not givenNot givenThe bars' own rating; your vehicle's limit still applies

The driving figures run from 100 to 220 lb, and an awning plus bars takes a big bite out of the low end. "Not given" fills most of the side-load column. A manual that lists no side load has not approved one. It has said nothing either way. Also read what your figure includes. Jeep's 100 lb "includes the weight of the crossbars." Subaru's 150 lb on the 2017 and 2022 Outback covers cargo and attachments, and its 220 lb for the 2022 Wilderness covers cargo, crossbars and carrying attachments. Toyota's 4Runner line names only cargo.

While driving: count the awning as cargo

An awning bolted to the rack is part of the roof load every mile you drive. Rhino-Rack says so in the Batwing instructions. "With the addition of the Batwing Awning, the load capacity of your crossbars will have to be adjusted accordingly." It then gives the weight: "approximately 20kg" with mounting brackets.

So the sum looks like this:

  1. Awning plus brackets. 20 kg (44 lb) for a Batwing. Use the figure in your own awning's instructions.
  2. Bars and feet. Count them if your manual says the limit includes crossbars or attachments.
  3. Everything else on top. A roof box and what is in it, a basket, recovery boards, a spare.
  4. Compare with the lowest limit. Your total must stay under the vehicle's driving figure and under the bars' rating, whichever is lower.

That last step catches people who read only the rack box. Thule rates the WingBar Evo at up to 220 lb. On a Wrangler the roof itself stops you at 100 lb, crossbars included. The bars may be strong enough. The roof they sit on decides.

The awning also changes how the rest of the roof can be loaded. Rhino-Rack fits the Batwing to its Vortex crossbar or Pioneer platform with its own brackets, and a heavy-duty crossbar needs the extra 33101 kit. ARB says its Awning 2500 bolts straight to the side of a roof rack. For plain roof bars, or beside an ARB rooftop tent, you need its optional L brackets.

Worked example: a Batwing, bars and a roof box

Here is the sum worked through on paper. Nothing was weighed or driven. The bar and box weights are assumptions to show the steps, so use the figures on your own labels.

Worked example

Take a 2026 Outback, with its 220 lb (100 kg) driving limit. Fit a Batwing at about 20 kg with its brackets. Suppose the crossbars and feet weigh 10 kg. Add a roof box, and suppose it weighs 20 kg empty and holds 30 kg of camping gear.

On the road: 20 + 10 + 20 + 30 = 80 kg, about 176 lb. That is 20 kg (44 lb) under the 100 kg limit. A bar rating of 100 kg, like Thule's WingBar Evo, gives the same answer. This load passes.

On a dirt road: Rhino-Rack suggests cutting the vehicle's roof capacity by one-third off-road. Two-thirds of 100 kg is about 66 kg. The same 80 kg is now about 14 kg over. Move 14 kg of gear from the box into the car, or leave the box at home.

On a Wrangler instead: the limit is 100 lb (45 kg), crossbars included. The Batwing and the bars alone come to 30 kg. That leaves 15 kg for everything else, not enough for the 20 kg box even empty.

At camp: park, open the Batwing and drop its supports. The awning still weighs 20 kg, so the downward load has not grown. What is new is wind on several square meters of fabric, pulling the rack sideways and up. The Outback's side rating is 220 lb. No published figure turns a wind speed into pounds on the rack for this awning, so nobody can work that part out on paper. That is why the guy ropes go in before you sit down.

Parked and open: side load is the one that matters

Two answers to "can my rack hold an open awning" circulate. One reads the static rating: the Outback roof holds 800 lb parked, so a 44 lb awning is nothing. The other reads only the driving limit and stops there. Both miss the point.

The static figure is about weight pressing straight down. Subaru's 2022 manual sets 700 lb for the Outback Wilderness parked with a roof tent, counting "all occupants and contents in the roof tent." An open awning is a different shape of load. Its outer edge sits on legs, and its fabric works like a sail fixed to one side of the roof. When wind gets under it, the force on the rack runs across the car and upward, not down. That is the side load. The Drive describes the 2026 Outback's 220 lb lateral rating as weight "off the side while parked." It names "a big awning" as the example.

Your car may well have a side limit that its manual does not print. So do not treat the open awning as something the rack holds alone. ARB's manual says to "always secure the awning with pegs and guy ropes." The reason it gives: this "will prevent the wind from lifting the awning and causing damage to your awning and/or your vehicle." Rhino-Rack says: "Always use guy ropes when awning is deployed." Its diagram sets the ropes at about 45 degrees to the ground.

The ropes and pegs give the wind a path to the ground that does not run through the rack. On a calm afternoon they are easy to skip. Put them in anyway.

What the two awning makers require

The Batwing and the ARB 2500 come from the two best-known Australian makers, and their instructions set the mounting rules. The table lines them up.

Mounting and use rules from the Rhino-Rack Batwing and ARB Awning 2500 instructions
RuleRhino-Rack Batwing (33100 LH / 33200 RH)ARB Awning 2500
WeightAbout 20 kg (44 lb) with bracketsNot stated in the manual
Effect on rack ratingCrossbar capacity "will have to be adjusted accordingly"Not stated
AttachmentTwo awning brackets with M8 T-bolts into the crossbar or platform, plus a pickup point at the rearTwo points, "preferrably three"; unsecured length at each end no more than 700 mm (27.5 in)
Bolts and torqueM6 4 to 5 Nm, M8 8 to 10 Nm, M10 16 to 18 Nm unless stated; brackets 4 to 5 Nm6 stainless 6 x 20 mm bolts supplied; no fewer than 4, all 6 preferable
ChecksAll bolts after a short first drive, then at intervalsCheck nuts and bolts regularly on a trip
When openGuy ropes always; non-stretch ropes or straps onlyAlways pegs and guy ropes; legs pegged to the ground
WindStow in strong winds; avoid setup in windy conditions; never leave it open unattended"Essential" to secure it to the ground in windy conditions
OtherRemove the awning and crossbars for automatic car washes; do not use it to climb onto the roofMount high enough for the doors to open; set an angle so rain runs off

The torque figures are low. Rhino-Rack's M6 value, 4 to 5 Nm, is only 3 to 4 lb-ft, so use a torque wrench rather than guessing. Then check the bolts again. Rhino-Rack wants them checked after a short first drive, and at regular intervals "depending on road conditions, usage, loads and distances travelled."

ARB's 700 mm rule limits overhang: no more than 700 mm of awning may hang free past the last mount at either end. Two mounts is the minimum and three is better, so the load is shared along the rack. The same idea of spacing supports to share load runs through bracket spacing for house awnings.

A few smaller rules are easy to miss. Rhino-Rack adds a pickup mounting point at the rear of the vehicle, on the opposite side from the awning, and asks for non-stretch ropes or straps only. ARB wants the awning mounted high enough that the doors open without catching it. Rhino-Rack says to take both the awning and the crossbars off before an automatic car wash.

ARB's line about rain matters too. Fabric that holds water gets heavy fast and pulls hard on whatever holds it up. Water pooling on awnings shows how quickly that weight adds up.

How much wind is too much

Neither maker gives a wind speed. Rhino-Rack writes "strong winds" and "windy conditions." ARB writes "windy conditions." No figure in mph or km/h appears in either document.

House awnings are different. Some are tested under a European standard that sorts them into wind classes, set out in awning wind ratings. No class like that exists for a vehicle awning. So use the makers' own test: if you would not leave it open while you walk away, pack it up. Rhino-Rack says not to leave it unattended at all, because "weather conditions can change suddenly."

Need shade that can stay up while you are away from the car? A freestanding awning stands on its own frame and anchors. None of its load hangs on your roof.

Where this answer stops applying

This page reads seven published ratings and two awning manuals. Your vehicle's manual governs your vehicle, and model years differ: the Outback alone runs from 150 lb to 220 lb across the trims and years here. Most manuals print no side load, and none of them says what an open awning may put on the rack. Nothing on this page turns a wind speed into a safe load, because no maker publishes one. The off-road cut of one-third is Rhino-Rack's advice for its racks. Other makers may set their own figure, so check your rack's instructions. Bars, feet and fit kits each carry a rating, and a rack is only as strong as its weakest part and the roof under it. Finally, these figures are for a roof rack on a car or SUV. A trailer, a camper shell or an RV wall carries an awning differently.

Key takeaways

  • Count the awning and its brackets as roof load: about 20 kg (44 lb) for a Rhino-Rack Batwing.
  • While driving, stay under the lower of the vehicle's dynamic limit and the bars' rating. Published driving limits here run from 100 lb (Wrangler, crossbars included) to 220 lb.
  • Off-road, Rhino-Rack suggests a one-third cut to the roof capacity.
  • Parked and open, the side load matters. Only the 2026 Outback publishes one here: 220 lb, with an awning named.
  • Always guy out and peg an open awning, and pack it away in strong wind. No wind speed is published.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a 270 awning weigh?

Rhino-Rack gives its Batwing, a fan-shaped 270 style awning, as about 20 kg (44 lb) with its mounting brackets. Check your own awning's instructions, and add the brackets if they are listed separately.

Does the awning count toward my roof rack weight limit?

Yes. Rhino-Rack says the crossbar load capacity "will have to be adjusted accordingly" once the Batwing is fitted. Subaru counts carrying attachments in its limit, and Jeep counts the crossbars.

What is a lateral load rating on a roof rack?

It is the most sideways force the roof may take while the car is parked. The 2026 Subaru Outback is rated for 220 lb of lateral load, and The Drive names "a big awning" as the kind of thing it is for.

Can I use the static roof rating for an open awning?

No. The static figure is for weight pressing down, such as a rooftop tent with people in it. An open awning in wind pulls the rack sideways and up, which is the side load. Guy ropes and pegs should take that, not the rack.

What wind speed is safe for a car awning?

No maker in this guide publishes one. Rhino-Rack says to stow the Batwing in strong winds and never leave it open unattended. ARB says it is essential to secure the awning to the ground in windy conditions.

Should I take the awning off for a car wash?

For the Batwing, yes. Rhino-Rack says to remove the awning and the crossbars before an automatic car wash.

Sources and further reading

How we write our guides: figures are typical US ranges checked against manufacturer documentation, published standards and installer pricing. Read our editorial standards. Spotted an error or outdated detail? Request a correction.